Maintaining Balance in the World of Real Estate.

doorwayI obtained a Texas Real Estate license a few years ago because income from my Feng Shui consults wasn’t enough to pay my bills.  Wanting to combine Feng Shui, Staging, and my passion of simply looking at houses, I thought that becoming a Realtor® would offer the best of all worlds.  What I’ve found is that being a Realtor® does enable me to see more homes and do more Feng Shui staging which is terrifically fulfilling.   What I didn’t realize was how much real estate transactions deal with people’s core issues of financial insecurity, control, trust, and greediness.  I’ve seen a transaction bring out the worst in people, and sometimes the worst isn’t very bad, but sometimes it’s absolutely draining and frustrating.  And when I become engaged with a client at the level of their ego it often brings out my own fears and insecurities.

Clients that I’ve started working with that seemed balanced, enlightened, and connected to their spiritual nature will frequently disappear and reappear as ego-driven, frightened and not-very-nice people.  I wasn’t prepared for such a challenge to my spiritual balanced-ness.  And because my ego tells me that every client must be pleased with my services, I’ve found myself in grips of “I can’t do this anymore” situations where I feel unappreciated and taken advantage of.  But that’s my stuff.  And that’s the climate of the real estate business, or maybe every business that’s established in the world of form. 

eag at kite festival 2

But I can also say it’s so perfect because it’s allowing me to see how I can step into the ego world, the world of form as Eckhart Tolle eloquently explains.  I then can find my tools to get out of ego and into Spirit and say…oh… it’s not Real(isn’t that ironic that Real Estate isn’t Real)!  What is real is the authentic peace I find in the present moment and in the flow of being.  Being, not doing.  And, I see bits of myself in each client that’s coping with their fear, anxiety, and insecurity.  It’s an unprecedented learning experience I’ve given to myself without knowing I was doing it.

Because people put so much security into their home, both emotionally and financially, it’s very hard to:

  • Convince Home Sellers to lower their sales price based on market conditions;
  • Work with other Realtors that are determined to “one-up” me;
  • Ask clients to create good-will by compromising with the other party;
  • Ensure clients that I’m doing everything I can to: sell their home and create the best outcome for them;
  • Show clients that I actually know more than their personal on-line research.

My mission with Balanced Living Properties is to bring Balance into a client’s life; to match people with homes; and to create transactions grounded on Good Will; and perhaps the most important, is to stay Balanced myself.

One response to “Maintaining Balance in the World of Real Estate.

  1. Interesting blog! I operate a Contract Loan Processing Agency and was surfing around for ideas to create blogs in Word Press for Real Estates Agents in Texas wanting to develop a niche product such as assisting buyers wanting to purchase bank owned properties, which brought me to yours.

    If I can ever be of assistance with a mortgage question feel free to contract me. I have over 30 years experience as an FHA Underwriter and always available to answer questions a Real Estate Agent might have when the contract is going south due to the financing and can offer any recommendations that might save your deal.

Leave a Reply

